Get to Know
our Scholars

Play Video

Building the best possible Maine

For over 25 years, the Mitchell Institute has continued the work of turning students into Scholars and Scholars into leaders. Every year, we select one graduating senior from every public high school in Maine. Each Scholar is given support that starts with a scholarship, grows into personal and professional support—including leadership skills, professional connections and internships— and becomes part of a network that offers a lifetime of meaningful relationships. We believe every Maine student deserves an opportunity to succeed, and that success impacts not only the Scholar, but the communities we all live in as well.

Making a difference for over 25 years:


Scholar from every public high school in Maine


Scholars and growing

27 %

higher college graduation rate than national average

66 %

of Scholars stay in Maine after school

Meet a Mitchell Scholar

There are currently 550 Mitchell Scholars in college, hailing from every corner of the state. We’ve selected four Scholars to represent this impressive group. Please take a moment and get to know them—the future of Maine couldn’t be any brighter.

Donors make the difference

The work of the Mitchell Institute is only possible through the generosity of our donors. We are grateful to each and every one of you for giving Maine’s students the opportunity to succeed, especially in such a difficult year.
Thank you.

If you are new to the Mitchell Institute or have not made a donation yet this year, please consider making an investment in a future leader, and the future of Maine. Join us in creating the best possible Maine.

Invest in a Scholar today.

$10,000+ Leadership Donors
  • Abbott
  • Barbara Atkins
  • Back Bay Tower
  • Sara Burns and Bob Allen
  • Charles Butt
  • Gena R. Canning
  • Mr. and Mrs. Chris Coyne
  • Crewe Foundation
  • Bruce and Rebecca Epstein
  • Ethos
  • The Evergreen Foundation
  • Fisher Charitable Foundation
  • Joe Foley and Trish O'Carroll
  • John T. Gorman Foundation
  • Hub International
  • Janet Igel, in honor of Meg Baxter
  • David Johnson and Charrisse Kaplan
  • William Kayatta, Jr. and Anne Swift-Kayatta
  • KeyBank
  • Frank and Ellie Langlois
  • Senator and Mrs. George Mitchell
  • Richard and Eleanor Morrell
  • The Peat Fund of The Philadelphia Foundation
  • Christopher and Nancy Pierce
  • Linda and Stuart Price
  • Virginia Swain
  • TD Bank
  • Galen and Sue Todd
  • Unum
  • WEX
$5,000-$9,999 Major Donors
  • Acadia Cove Scholarship Fund
  • Richard Barringer
  • Meg Baxter
  • Marjorie Bride and Terry McEnany
  • Central Maine Power
  • Mr. and Mrs. Tom Chappell
  • Dead River Company
  • Peter and Karen Fendler
  • GHM Insurance Agency
  • Lisa Gorman
  • Mark Haley
  • Lee Auto Malls
  • Vincent and Anne Oliviero
$1,000-$4,999 Donors
  • Tom and Sheila Adams
  • Duke and Nancy Albanese
  • Pamela Angell and Richard Carr
  • Martha Bailey and Lewis Sudarsky
  • Bangor Savings Bank
  • The Barmore Fund
  • Grace Berestecki
  • Bernstein Shur
  • Bowdoin College
  • Ann and Rick Bresnahan
  • Franklin and Susan Burroughs, Jr.
  • Joan Carey and Andrew Baron, Jr.
  • David and Susan Carlisle
  • Cousins' Charitable Foundation
  • Chagit and Roger M. Deitz
  • Mike and Denise Dubyak
  • Marcia and Bob Ellis
  • Elaine Epstein and Jim Krachey
  • Robert and Julia Ervin
  • Mark Fernandez and Anne Devine
  • Rollin and Averil Fessenden
  • Linda and Michael Fetters, in memory of Ann Lamb
  • Sue E. Fitzgerald
  • Mary Mitchell Friedman and Harold Friedman
  • Mr. and Mrs. Richard Goff
  • Gorham Savings Bank
  • Peter and Harriette Griffin
  • Dennis Haines, in memory of Marilyn T. Haines
  • Hanover Insurance Group
  • Harvard Pilgrim Health Care
  • Peter Haynes
  • K.C. and Lee Jones
  • Emmaly Jurson
  • Kennebec Savings Bank
  • Rob and Diane Kilroy
  • Robert and Arlene Kogod
  • Family of Mary E. Leblanc
  • Philip Licari and Caroline Phillips-Licari
  • L.L.Bean
  • Barry and Elizabeth Lipton
  • Ingrid and Christopher Loh
  • Machias Savings Bank
  • Dawn Madore-Bourgoin and Scott Bourgoin
  • Maine Coast LLC
  • Maine Medical Center and MaineHealth
  • Scott Maker and Andrea Cianchette Maker
  • Michele Martin
  • Martin's Point Health Care
  • Jay McCloskey, Esq.
  • Karen McDonald
  • Mr. and Mrs. Clement McGillicuddy
  • Charles and Judy Micoleau
  • Suzanne and Paul Mitchell
  • Jeff and Alison Nathanson
  • Nellie Mae Education Foundation
  • Jeffrey Norris and Laura Newman
  • Pachios Brothers II, LLC
  • Edward and Ann Pierce
  • Jim and Polly Pierce
  • Pine State Beverage
  • Mark Porter
  • Stephen D. Poulos
  • Greg and Amy Powell
  • Preti
  • ProSearch
  • Colleen Quint and William Hiss
  • R.M. Davis
  • Stephanie Ralph
  • Hilary Rapkin and William Stiles
  • Matthew Ratner
  • Malcolm and Susan Rogers
  • Saint Joseph's College of Maine
  • Lauren Segal and Richard Grigos
  • Andrew Short and Andrea Vizoso
  • Sarah Short
  • Smith Family Charitable Trust
  • Sudarsky Family Foundation
  • Eric and Wendy Suehrstedt
  • Paul Suitter
  • University of New England
  • Verrill
  • Christopher C. and Gina K. Vickers
  • Jacqueline Walker
  • Dr. David Wennberg and Senator Anne Carney
  • Natalie West and Robert Sellin
  • Christine Williams
  • Tim and Liz Williams
  • Nicole Witherbee and Gregory Payne
*Our 2020 donors through December 31, 2020